Unlimited access >

Boots for a horse that interferes

Just wanted to get some input about boots (or wraps maybe?) for a horse that interferes. He is a 5 yo OTTB and we are just starting our dressage training. I have never used boots for flatwork before, but got a pair of the cheap Dover fetlock boots, which look pretty awful on him because they are a one size fits all, and the velcro barely fits.
I like the look of the Equilibrium strech & flex, but they don’t seem to provide much in the way of protection for interference.
I own a pair of eskadron open fronts, and a full set of the 2 strap woof boots for trail riding.
Thanks for any help you can offer!

ETA: if someone wants to tackle the explanation for polo wraps, or boots during flatwork, it would be very much appreciated as well!

White polo wraps are standard schooling attire for dressage. They provide some measure of protection from interference. They were thought to provide support as well but that has pretty much been disproven.

I’ve sometimes used boots like these in white for a little more protection.

http://www.doversaddlery.com/euro-pro-askan-hind-horse-boots/p/X1-0440/

Why white? It makes it easier to see the horse’s legs (in the arena mirrors, for example.) Sometimes black polos are used on grey horses.

If you don’t know how to wrap, I would not suggest polo wraps (unless you have some one who can teach you) because if you do them wrong it can damage your horses tendons. Polos provide less protection than boots. However they are cheaper than boots and they look really sharp, and its fun to match your saddle pad!

I like the fleece boots, They also look nice provide good protection and when I am in too much of a hurry to wrap I throw on my fleece boots. I use the Dover sport boot, they don’t last forever but they look nice and provide good cushion in case your horse hit itself.

Where is your horse interfering?