Unlimited access >

Broadcasting at a low seeding rate

I’m in my first year of keeping my horses at home and am seeking to diversify my only pasture, which is mostly fescue (all boys so no worries about toxicity). After doing some research and attending a pasture seminar, I decided to try frost seeding a small amount of clover to fix nitrogen (I’ll add some more variety later in the year but clover is most successful with frost seeding). I bought 10 lbs to spread over 3-4 acres. I also bought a 25-lb over-the-shoulder style bag spreader. Unfortunately even the smallest hole was too large for the tiny clover seeds and the low seeding rate I wanted to achieve, and all my seed was gone after I walked across only a small portion of the field. For next time, what is the best way to broadcast seeds at a low rate like this? Do I need to do it by hand?

I’d like to know too.

I know my county ag guy suggested a Brillion distributor for bermuda, but apparently they are pricey and rare.

You don’t say how much you are putting out. How many acres. I will assume like most on the forum we are talking a few acres. You don’t want to plant clover like grass seed. You just want to “spice” the paddock/pasture in small amounts sporadically which can be done by hand. Clover can get pretty aggressive, most reseeds itself easily depending on management. It can and will shade out, crowd out existing grass. It has been my experience working with TBs they far prefer grass to clover. So if you are working with small acreage over time you will be losing grazing areas. IMO and experience I wouldn’t do it. Better off soil testing and fertilizing when needed. Much better bang for the buck. Clover has its way of working itself into most paddocks on its own.