Broken ribs - experiences, timeline, empathy...

Murphy’s Law or maybe just rotten luck! My last jump school before 2 weeks of showing up in Canada and my 7yo mare got tangled in a fence and fell on the backside. I went one way, she went the other (thankfully!) and I landed full force on my left boob. 2 broken ribs later, I spent the last 2 weeks watching a trainer friend ride my two young sales horses, and left the two “big” horses sitting at home for some R&R while I went up and watched.

Ugh. So frustrating! This is the first time I’ve ever had my horses up at a show and haven’t been able to do anything with them. The rider was absolutely incredible and I couldn’t have been happier with the job she did with both horses, but still frustrating to not be the one doing it!

Anyhow, with the pity party out of the way, looking for stories. Have you broken ribs? How long did it take you to get back in the saddle? I started riding again (well, “riding”) 2 days after it happened, but it’s nothing close to normal. I can’t tolerate any jarring, so I crank my rib belt down and then post by barely touching the saddle and do everything else in two-point. For the first week I was able to do one normal ride (w/t/c) and then everyone else got mostly-walking trail rides. 2 weeks out I can make it through 3 horses for relatively normal hacks. But still sore enough that I can’t sit the trot or canter.

The doctors say not to ride for 6 weeks, but also I didn’t tell them that I was already riding again. I’m definitely being careful, but there’s just no way to give my crew that much time off. So I’m looking for stories of “horse people” (you know what I mean - those of us who are back at it way too soon :lol:) who have gone through the same thing. If it’s relevant, I landed on my boob and cracked 5&6 in the front.