Broken vertebrae

I got bucked off my new fancy horse and broke the transverse (sp) process of L1 through L3 and fractured L4 and L5. I was pretty drugged the first week and was told to do nothing. I am now progressing into week three post injury and going nuts. I know I can’t ride, but I want to, I can walk and drive short distances as long as I am not taking meds. Has anyone had a similiar injury and what can I expect. The doctor hasn’t given me any indication of what to expect, I don’t go back for another appointment until the first week of December and have not been able to find any information on the internet.

Calling Whicker

I have no clue, but Whicker might be able to help out. She’s broken some vertebrae. I wish I could offer some help, but I have no knowledge in this area. Best of luck!

No ideas, but I hope you’re feeling better soon.

I’m right there with you on going crazy from not being able to do anything.

You rang?

Hi Akstaj,

You are fortunate that someone figured out how badly you were hurt. Drugs, MMMmm!

My drs didn’t think I was hurt enough to even do x-rays. It wasn’t diagnosed for 6 months, so some of my vertebrae are in novel positions.:winkgrin:

Are you in a body cast? Can you move about? If your vertbrae stayed in the original locations, and your discs didn’t smush much and your spinal cord is ok, you should be able to do quite a lot of riding once you heal without major pain.

But, you do have to give yourself time to heal, which is mentally extremely frustrating, boring and a major annoyance. How polite can I be about it?! I hated being stuck on the bed on a good riding day.

I could think I was FINE, then try to get up and walk to the barn, and fall or stumble and have no balance. I couldn’t lift any thing that weighed more than a pound, to start.