Unlimited access >

Budget for a 3' amateur horse

I’m trying to get an idea for what kind of budget i should plan for - im a 35 yr old amateur, back riding after taking time off but did the 3’6 hunters/eq as a junior and now back doing the 3 ft on a leased horse. I would love to find a warmblood, big (16.3 and up b/c im 5’11), big stride, honest to the jumps, primarily to have fun at home, maybe a few local B shows and MAYBE an A show at some point, in the 3 ft adult eq/ medals. I dont need a fancy mover. Ideally on the younger side < 10 years old, ok if green/ limited show miles. Im in Colorado. What is a a realistic budget? Is it worth looking in canada after considering costs of traveling to look, shipping etc. thanks for the input!!

Honestly, I think this budget could be anywhere from $7500 to $50k. It is hard to say.

Considering the Canadian dollar just hit 74 cents I think coming up here to look at horses is an excellent idea. Given the type of horse you are looking at I think 40 to 50 CDN would be perfectly do-able. If you are looking for an ammy A horse with a proven show record and the hack winner that price would probably be closer to 65 to 80 CDN. Consider travelling to Florida too. Many of our nice Cdn horses will be there all winter showing…good place to start.

How competitive are the B shows in your area? Back in Virginia you practically need what in the Midwest would be an A circuit horse to show the local circuit hunters competitively. Here, under $15k will get you a competitive TB and $20k will get the WB version of what you want. Not the winner though.

In the NE you would be looking anywhere between $40,000-100,000 plus. Prices are insane.

If you are willing to wiggle a little on height, age and level of training? It will be easier but what you describe is on the higher end of what has been mentioned in most areas. I was going to guess 25-60+, more if it’s got a lot of good AA show miles.