Unlimited access >

Buyer Responsibility

Hi all, I’m seeking a little bit of insight on this topic as this is my first time selling a horse, let alone selling a horse to a buyer 21+ hours away (driving).

My mare has found a new home and the sale went quite flawlessly. Buyer and I maintained communication throughout the entire process (vetting, photos/videos, etc.) a sales contract was signed and money in my pocket. Shipping was arranged and she was actually supposed to be picked up today. Unfortunately, there were some logistical errors in the planning and the shipper does not have room for her on the trailer. Thus, shipping will be delayed.

All is good on my end, her board has been paid until mid-May (as she was supposed to be gone before this date) and we do not need the stall right away. In my sales contract, it states that maresy will be buyer’s financial responsibility after the contract has been signed and she has been paid in full (which has been done). It is likely the next ship date won’t be until end of May/beginning of June, best case.

I know it is stated in the contract, but would it be reasonable to ask the buyer that board be paid for the rest of the month/next month as she will still be in our care until then? I always feel bad when circumstances such as these arise as it is really no one’s fault but the shippers, and I don’t want to seem like I’m squeezing. In a case like this, would you continue to pay board on your animal even though it has been sold? Thanks in advance for any input.

Who messed up the shipping, you or the buyer?

1 Like

Shipping was arranged by the buyer.

Then it’s reasonable to ask buyer to pay board. Also, who will keep horse exercised at your place? What if it gets injured? Does owner have insurance?

Without paying board owner can potentially dilly dally about shipping until they are good and ready for horse.

6 Likes