Unlimited access >

Buying Ranch Type Horse in Online Auction. Are the big sales a good choice?

I am a lifelong english discipline person, but would like to get a quiet, trustworthy trail horse. Breed is not important. The ranch horse sales look like a good option, but several are now online, so I would have to trust the consignor and sale company because I couldn’t ride the horse before buying.

The only horses I have ever bought at auction have been TBs in the broodmare sales in Kentucky, so I have no experience with buying a riding horse this way. I am looking for advice as to whether I should consider this or stay clear of these types of sales? The Cody Horse Sale starts next week and horses are guaranteed sound.

Thanks for any advice/experiences you can share.

I am an experienced trail rider, from MN to AZ. If you need trustworthy I would suggest buying one used to your environment. Ranch horses are a just a label, there is a difference between the older retiring mellow ranch horse and a performance cow bred ranch horse meant to be out on pasture and ridden hard many days a week. If you are looking for something you can stable - do not purchase a horse used to ranch pasture. I saw that happen here, AZ doesn’t have grass grazing so horses used to being out playing with buddies all the time suffered personality changes trying to figure out living in a stall. Also depends on your ability as a rider of course. Trail riding can be super enjoyable or entirely miserable depending on your purchase.

My advice would be to buy from a known and trusted source. Some “ranch” horse are used to a lot of hard work, and need to work. Some are more suited for a weekend trail rider or the person who wants 3-5 casual trail rides a week. There is a big difference between the two!