Unlimited access >

Can anyone relate?

Thanks In advance to anyone offering advice!
My background is h/j and going to work for a couple FEI riders in Germany and the USA after highschool. I have jumped up to 1m45 and schooled dressage through fourth level due to some amazing internships and a lot of hard work. I had a couple of injuries and went to school (now an RN). I have a great relationship, pets and personal horse. Something is missing. I miss being out in the sun, the people, the hard work… who knows. I’m so driven to drop it all and go back to working for other riders. Everyone I talk to wants me to start my own little barn and not drop nursing but I feel like I’m not done learning! Or have the resources to show on a the level I want to. On the flip side I also love my stable life. Any one able to relate or advise?🤦🏻”â™€ï¸

I think it’s safe to say that many (if not most) of us on here have had to choose – to some degree – between professional careers and horses. There are some pros here that took the latter. Also, many many ammies that took the former (myself included).

Although it CAN be done, I think it’s incredibly difficult to raise a family while working for other riders of elite caliber. The travel is extensive and the schedule is frequently insane and unpredictable.

When my husband asked me to marry him, I knew I was at a crossroads. Obviously, you can see by my username what I chose.

I have a lovely family now. Two beautiful girls and a loving husband. We live in a nice house, take great vacations, and all that. My job – while not very fulfilling – pays for me to keep two horses. I don’t get to ride or show as much as I used to. I probably will never reach my goal of jumping in the AOs. It stings a little.