Unlimited access >

Canadian dressage

Silly question but I’m not having much luck with Google.

For an adult amateur, what is the typical show ring progression. From all of my reading I gather in the US you can aspire to medals (bronze, silver, gold) which I assume are the culmination of a number of test scores at that given level.

Is there an equivalent in Canada? If so, how does it work? Like if you’re starting at training/first in the show ring, showing bronze level (which I understand to be schooling shows) do you just methodically work your way up? Is there something to aspire TO, like a medal?

And is the only reason to show silver (which I think is Trillium? I’m in Ontario) to go to larger, nicer shows?

I’ve been dabbling in dressage for 15 years but never with an eye to showing. Now I’ve caught the bug and want to understand it all. I have an AQHA background, so zero experience in either h/j land or dressage shows.

Yes, we do have medals here, as well as other awards: https://www.equestrian.ca/sport/dressage/awards

Rated shows start at bronze (similar to a schooling show, as you say, except that they can use the EC tests). CADORA is an organization that runs regional series that might be of interest. A true schooling show (unsanctioned, ie. unrated by EC) cannot use EC tests. I run a schooling (unsanctioned) series and offer Walk-Trot through First Level divisions, then a Test of Choice class. I use CADORA tests which are free to use (note that CADORA the organization actually uses EC tests as they are sanctioned :slight_smile: ).

Silver and Gold shows will generally offer tests up to higher levels than a schooling or Bronze show. That’s where you’re seeing the shows at bigger facilities such as Angelstone. There is also the Platinum rated level for FEI.

Note that those awards at the link above require scores at Silver, Gold, or Platinum shows.