Unlimited access >

Canine dentals - is this typical?

My 7 year old, quite hale dog is, per the new vet, due for a dental. Previous vet who saw him one year ago thought his teeth looked ‘great’.

I’ve just received the pre-appointment info.

They insist on a $150 lab workup in advance (back when I was a vet tech, we did this for dogs over 10 or 12 or if they had an issue, but otherwise didn’t bother).

Over $300 for anesthetic and sundry things related to it (IV, monitoring, etc).

A full set of radiographs at $150

Plus the actual cleaning, which is $160 for an hour (that is SLOW in my experience).

The estimated bill is $903.

Is this typical?
Also, how often should I expect to be doing this? Every three years? Every 5?

1 Like

I don’t know where you’re located, but when I worked at a clinic outside of Boston 5+ years ago that would have been well within reasonable. Given general price increases since then I’d bet that’s not out of the question most anywhere.

How often will really depend on your dog’s genetics and your home care. Brushing with enzymatic toothpaste after the dental regularly makes a really big difference, and there are a number of other effective products on the market as well. None will replace the dental, but if started afterward will really extend the time between dentals.

See the VOHC for recs- https://vohc.org/accepted-products/

8 Likes

Well, yes, the price is typical but I question whether the dog really needs it. Do the teeth still look “great”?
I knew my little yorkie cross needed a dental, very bad breath and I could see tartar. He now only has like 4 teeth left, and they told me many teeth just fell out during the procedure. It doesn’t sound like your dog is in that kind of shape. I don’t get dentals done on them unless I think they have pain or I can see yuckiness. So I have no input on the freqency.
I’ve been told that small dogs tend to have worse teeth, and my guy is age unknown since he’s a stray from a shelter.

2 Likes