Unlimited access >

Canter Aid - Inside vs. Outside Leg

Kind of a basic question, but I have always cued my horse into a canter by pushing mostly with my outside leg. My new dressage instructor always wants me to use my inside leg instead for impulsion.

What difference if any does it make in the quality of the movement? Is it just a matter of how the horse is trained or does it really matter?

Thanks!

I’m not an expert on the matter, but I have taken enough lessons in both H/J and dressage land to have seen people use different ways of asking.

One trainer I took lessons from a while ago had people cue with their inside hip, as in lifting it while applying inside leg.

With the trainers I work with now, I use inside leg at the girth for impulsion and then swing my outside leg back in a sweeping motion, kind of like a windshield wiper.

I don’t know how much it really matters, so it will be interesting to hear what other people have to say about that.

Seeing different people cueing for flying changes different ways, maybe it’s about what works for them on that particular horse.

Well if your horse is straight and you ask for the canter by kicking with the outside leg then you will be inadvertently kicking the haunches to the inside, making your horse crooked. Additionally, you ideally want to prepare yourself for tempis, and using hip/inside leg aid takes less time.

I was also taught that it should be done with the inside hip b/c of flying changes/tempis (not that I am adept at either, but can do killer halt or walk/canter transitions with just the hip at least). Additionally, I’ve been told that lifting the inside hip gives the inside shoulder room to lift and the inside hind room to reach under in the transition – if you pitch your body forward, this prevents the horse from lifting his front end, so it’s something to be careful about when learning to do the transition this way.

The coach I learned the most from gave me this perspective on leg aids: