Unlimited access >

Canter and lower leg

i bought my horse in may and wasnt able to ride him until august, and once i started riding him, i noticed my lower leg is all over the place. i compared videos of me riding my horse and videos of me riding lesson horses in january/february of this year, and my leg is much more stable in the earlier videos. my horse has a problem with carrying himself (especially through turns) and i always blamed that for my swinging leg. i dont really pinch with my knee (at least less than i used to), but my leg still swings. could my horse’s wobbly canter be the cause or is it a skill issue on my part?

Video is the only way to know for sure.

If your saddle doesn’t fit this horse, it’s going to fight you for good position, not to mention not allow him to use himself properly

Loose lower legs are a core problem, at the… core LOL

5 Likes

Loose lower leg often means it is sliding too far to the front. That can indicate that the rider is pushing down with the front of their foot, even though they intend to lower their heels. What tends to happen is the push pushes the stirrup forward, and as the front of the foot goes down, the heel starts lifting & floating.

Pushing with the toes/front of foot is a natural reaction that we have to re-train in ourselves.

Two-point practice. Tip your knee out from the saddle, and toe as well. Pull your lower leg back under you. Slide your knee back. Sink all weight into your heels while lifting your toe.

Be in a partial two-point as you transition from trot to canter. Stay that way with your lower leg feeling as if it is far back under you as you sit slowly into the saddle. You should feel as if you are almost over your knees, your foot is so far back. Really it is under your hip bone (hopefully) but it feels more extreme until you have the feel again.

Sounds like you just need to get your old feel back.

2 Likes