Unlimited access >

Canter transitions

Okay, Dressage HiveMind. Recovering H/J rider coming to you, seeking wisdom.

I’ve been riding again for about 9 months following a 20 year break. I’ve taken h/j lessons, but have found that I love the eventing and dressage scenes where I live (the DMV). Have been taking regular jumping lessons at an eventing barn and just started leasing a LOVELY horse at a dressage barn.

Here’s the problem. My lease horse is much more sensitive to correct aids than most of the lesson horses that I’ve ridden this year. She - like my dressage instructor’s school masters before her - has identified a very basic hole in my riding - asking for the canter.

In my jumping lessons, I just swing my outside leg back, shout Yee-haw! (a joke) and off we go. But it turns out that I actually let my inside leg swing forward as well, and pitch my body forward, throwing the contact away.

I’m working on it. I find that if I consciously look to the outside, that helps me hold my body in place to use my aids more correctly. And I’m working with an excellent, patient trainer. And, I’m regularly riding without stirrups to get a better seat.

But I thought COTH may have some wisdom as well - training videos to watch? Books to read? Things that you have found helpful?

Inside leg forward to girth brings inside hip forward. Slightly weight inside stirrup. Outside leg slightly back, slightly on. Sit up. Cue with inside leg.

4 Likes

My mind was blown when I realized I didn’t have to swing my leg all the way back to ask for canter. It wasn’t until I rode a schoolmaster, who wouldn’t accept my “hunter style” aid as an actual aid (just wouldn’t canter), which was also helpful as my horse had a tendency to explode into canter when I asked hunter style. Our world was radically changed by me figuring out that all I needed was a subtle shift in weight to the inside, my outside leg back just enough to be different, sitting up, and the inside leg to cue.