Unlimited access >

Career crisis!

Hi everyone! Basically, I’ve wanted to be a vet most of my life. However I recently completed an internship with a 5th grade teacher for the last 5 weeks of my senior year of high school. Now I’m really considering being a teacher, I’m just not sure that I would be able to afford to keep my horse and continue riding/lessoning/showing if I live off of a teacher salary. Are there any teachers out there that ride and how do you manage the finances and paying bills? Or are there any vets that could tell me about their riding life? Thank you!

Vets have a lot of debt. But then, so do most people leaving college these days. My mom is a teacher, she told me not to be a teacher, I probably should have heeded but alas teaching is very much a part of who I am. You can certainly pursue a teaching degree in a stem field which will really make you very much in demand.

4 Likes

I am a teacher. I have ten years in a public school system. I augmented my salary with coaching and sponsoring extracurriculars, as most teachers do, until I started having children about six years into my career. Riding took a back seat when I was a young teacher, still establishing myself and my reputation. I didn’t have financial support from my parents, in life or in horses, after earning my BA. I paid for my MA with loans, which further limited the disposable income I had available for horsey things. You’ll find that most districts don’t assist teachers significantly with the pursuit of their masters, though earning upper-level degrees and spending time in the system are, in most cases, the only way an individual can improve his or her take-home. When I took leave last year to stay home with my kids, I was making high-70’s.

Can horses be done? Yes. Are there other careers that will earn you more money? Of course, but they won’t leave your summers free to pursue other work and may well present their own logistical problems. Some thoughts: