Unlimited access >

Choosing a career to support my horsey dreams...

I am a young college student who has ridden, owned and leased a huge rangeof horses over the past ten years. I know that I want horses to be a central part of my future, but I also know the barriers to becoming a pro rider/ trainer/ etc… I’m a good rider, but I haven’t had much consistent training and I haven’t shown much before this year. I’m in IHSA and also leasing a nice dressage mare, so I’m riding regularly while in school, but even then I know I probably won’t be able to go pro or have a full-time horse career that will support the kind of lifestyle I want.

So my dream is to become a (hopefully internationally competitive) GP dressage rider, and have enough jumping and training experience to do some eventing and train some horses… And then eventually to open and co-own a stable with a few of my good friends, one of whom is well on her way to becoming a vet. The facility (ideally) would house a small lesson program, a training program, and a little knabstrupper/sporthorse breeding program, as well as offering boarding and a vet clinic… Anyway, it’s going to be an expensive endeavour, even with the bills split three ways.

So I’m trying to figure out what kind of career paths I might pursue that could help fund and support (and compliment) that dream. I have no problem working hard, going to grad school or whatever. I’m a good student. But I’m not sure what feild I could go into that would give me a high salary in addition to having the flexibility and freedom to also show, train, and care for the horses (not that I’d be doing all of that… I realize it’s a full time job).

I’ve seriously considered becoming a professor, a researcher or a doctor… I’m currently majoring in neuroscience. But I was just wondering if you guys could offer any advice or insight, maybe things I should consider when choosing a career path? Or things I should know when considering opening this type of facility?