Unlimited access >

Christmas Present?

I’m not sure whether or not I’m obligated to/should get a Christmas present for my boss. I’m a barn manager, she’s the barn owner. I’ve only been working here for 2 months. I believe she will be getting me (as well as the other employees) gifts, and an email was sent out to boarders and clients that suggested they give small gifts or tips to the staff as a thank you for their hard work. It’s my first time in a barn such as this, and I’m not sure what’s expected. I don’t know her well yet and don’t have a clue what to get her if I do need to be getting her something. Frankly I’m absolutely awful at gift giving to begin with (I come from a family that does not do Christmas and so I don’t have a ton of practice honestly). So a) is it expected? B) is it expected that I give a gift to anyone else (other staff members who work under me etc)? C) if it’s expected, what do I give??? Sorry y’all, I’m lost.

Under the social principal of reciprocity, I think you kind of have to give her something in return. As she is the BO and boss, your gift doesn’t have to be equal value to hers. IMO

If there is anything she might appreciate for her horse that is not quite a usual thing people buy on their own, that would be nice.

Otherwise I’d suggest a generic consumable - candles or commercially-produced gift food. People frequently don’t use these, but they don’t have to show anyone that they kept it, either.

IMO anything that is an object for display is not likely to match the giftee’s tastes. Cute signs, figurines, dishtowels - imo those get a polite comment, but most people don’t want them.

1 Like

I don’t think there’s any obligation to give one’s boss any kind of gift. Especially if you have only been there two months.

If you’re feeling like! you want to do something for your staff bring coffee and donuts/cookies or order pizza for lunch one day. Christmas cards with an individual thanks for your hard work note would be a personal touch.