Clipper Recommendations?

My Lister Star clippers have been used and abused for almost a decade and are about ready to kick the bucket, so I’m in the market for a new set. I have a set of Andis AGCs that can get the job done in a pinch, but it takes forever.

Tried to search existing threads but didn’t have much luck. I do a hunter clip on my own fine coated TB once or twice a year, and clip 2-3 other horses as needed, so not a ton of use. I’d love something with a little more power than the Andis and preferably cordless.

Any suggestions?

I’m not a professional clipper, I do two horses a year at most, but I’ve had these for 8+ years(?) and they’re still going strong. Adjustable, easily changeable blades, lightweight, and can be used corded or cordless. Not super wide so maybe you’re looking for something with a wider blade, but I love them.

https://www.chewy.com/wahl-chromado-lithium-cordless-pet/dp/206108

I came here to suggest the Andis :sweat_smile::woman_shrugging: I’ve only ever had issues with them being “slow” when I needed to replace the blade drive. But otherwise, I can have a full horse done in about 2 hours with a wide blade. Now if there is a clipper out there that can have me done in half that time I am HERE FOR IT. I hate clipping so much, it really wrecks my back. I also find that wet clipping is faster than dry clipping, and seems to be less wear on the blades and clippers.

1 Like

I really like my Andis clippers as well. Does anyone know if they make a blade guard so the T84 doesn’t clip quite so close??

Another pair of Lister Stars! :slight_smile: I haven’t found anything better. The only thing close is the Double Ks with the separate motor but I still prefer the Lister stars over them and I have both.

1 Like

Have you seen these-Lister Eclipse? They take the same blades as the Lister Star but are cordless.