Unlimited access >

Complete rookie here - how to evaluate mare bloodlines for a stallion

Hi! Fairly new to posting here, and definitely new to the sport horse breeding section. I am just starting out looking into mares and mare bloodlines that would be a good match for Amazing (KWPN Stallion). I don’t currently own a mare, so I am looking to evaluate different bloodlines that might be a good match for Amazing so I can use that to help narrow down my mare selection when the time comes. I am hoping to breed a very amateur friendly horse for the hunter ring. Temperament is the main goal! I am also looking for something that has good size. Open to other stallions as well, but not really sure where to start when looking for bloodlines that would be a good fit. Any advice?

Welcome to a lifetime of learning. You have found a stallion you like but don’t forget that the mare is half the genetic makeup and is actually more influential in the resulting foal if one then includes epigenetics. The secret behind most successful breeders is to find the best mare possible, in terms of temperament, conformation, performance, family and then find a stallions that complements the mare by improving on her weaker points such as neck set on a little too high or a hind leg that could be slightly better, or a temperament that is a little too hot.

Learning is about reading, looking, asking. There are plenty of resources online these days, such as COTH expertise as well as stallion shows on line, WB gradings to watch on line and breed shows and competitions to attend. Keep some lists: horses you like and their breeding; notable performances and why; ask why some horses are placed higher in a line than others. With time you will probably come to like a particular type or a particular family. The various stud books will often have informative training days - and it is possible to learn from everyone, even if it isn’t your preferred breed.