Unlimited access >

Conflicting diagnosis about navicular

I have a young mare, 4 years old, that I raised. Started her under saddle last year and rode lightly. Turned her out for the winter. I started riding her again and she had a very slight lameness in her left front. Took her to a vet at an equine hospital. The vet blocked her heel and she was sound. He took x-rays and stated she had trauma induced navicular in her left front. The x-rays do not look that bad, but the vet stated they were horrible and suggested injections and nerving her in two weeks. I thought that was a bit of a rush. I took the x-rays to two other vets (one is a friend) and just said will you look at these and tell me what you think sort of thing. They saw some mild changes, but didn’t see anything alarming. She came sound immediately with the injections and special shoeing. She rode for 8 to 9 weeks before going lame again. She responds to one gram of bute and will be sound for a couple of days. She is on a supplement, Duralatin, and Adequan. Her left leg is swollen in the upper area (right below the knee). Not sure what to do next. I cannot seem to get a direct quote on the cost of an MRI. I have read about Tildren, IRAP, and other therapies. Should I get a second opinion? What have you done? Thank you very much!

I would definitely investigate an MRI or ultrasound of her foot (if you have a skilled practitioner nearby) to look into a soft tissue injury/inflammation (some type of tear, navicular bursa inflammation or adhesion, etc). Ultrasound is much less expensive but you cannot see every structure in the foot as you can with an MRI. However, with a good practitioner it is often more than sufficient.
Advising neurectomy off of x-rays alone is alarming. Even if this was a primarily bony issue, I’d want to make sure there wasn’t also a soft tissue injury that would be worsened and trod around on.