Unlimited access >

Considering taking a break and need advice

This is my first time posting here but I didn’t know where else to turn. I am 17 and I have been riding since I was 7. To me it’s my whole life and I’ve always put it first. I’ve always worked for money off of lessons, board ect. I lease a quarter horse who has recently gone lame and the vet can’t figure out why. I work 6-7 days a week at the barn and 3-4 at a part time job. For the past month I’ve been considering taking a break from riding. I haven’t been looking forward to going to the barn or seeing my horse. It’s been really hard and I’m wanting to take a break to figure out if I really love riding or if I’m still doing it because it’s what I’ve always done. I’m scared to not ride or go to the barn because I don’t know what else I’d do with my time. My trainer is also a bit rough and I’m having a hard time communicating with her, but I’ve heard horror stories from other people at my barn about the barns in my area and a lot of people who left for various reasons always seem to come back to our barn. Any advice from people who are older and more experienced with life than me would be awesome.

Why don’t you take some time off from LESSONING, and instead just focus on doing fun stuff with your horse. Trail ride, go camp, whatever.

2 Likes

Is your lease horse currently lame? With no clear diagnostic? Are you on a month by month lease from the barn or trainer? In that case if he’s going to be out of work indefinitely I would give up the lease until he recovers. Obviously if you’ve got him on a year long lease that may not be an option but I would contact the owner and see what your contract says and try to send him home to recover. The whole point of a lease is not to be tied down to a horse that’s not working out for you.

It’s no fun when your horse is lame. It is worrying, it costs money and time to fix and you can’t ride.