Unlimited access >

Cost of living comparison - Ocala and/or West Palm, FL vs. Lexington, KY

I’m not sure if this the best place to post this, but I recently found out there may be an internal opening at my employer in either the Ocala/Gainesville/Leesburg area or the West Palm/Welly/Lake Worth areas in FL. I currently live in Lexington, KY and am very happy here, but I’m not a fan of cold weather, and recently my family all moved to FL (St. Augustine area…I know this is still a several hour drive from either of the above locations).

I work in the equine industry in sales so would be a similar job in an expansion territory (Scary!), just a different location, and another huge factor in contemplating applying.

Anyways, just curious for those those have lived any of the places what the typical cost of living for horse owners is in comparison? I’m assuming based on my time in the Welly/Lake Worth area for work that, that area is a LOT more expensive than Ocala, but I am just guessing.
Ex. Cost of board at a nice/safe but not fancy facility with access to grass pasture, stall, riding arena, close to trails, etc. Full Care or partial care

• Average cost of a 10 acre farm with small house (nothing super fancy) barn and fencing…I know this can vary a lot…big thing would be fairly close to town for significant other’s happiness and job (not a horse person).

I am just toying with the idea of possibly applying, as there are a lot of unknowns both with the potential opportunity in this location vs what I have now. TIA

Marion county resident here, in between Gainesville and Ocala.