Unlimited access >

Could I get a Catch Ride?

With the new show season approaching quickly, I was reflecting on last year and how I had ridden some really great horses that my trainer hooked me up with at shows. I am going to start consistently showing on the A circuit this coming show season and would like to do more catch riding. My question is, how do I get them on my own? Also would you hire me for a catch ride? I am 13 years old and 5’1" and I have been riding for 8 1/2 years. I am home schooled so I go to the barn everyday and ride at least 4 horses. I own a 15.3 thoroughbred mare that I trained from scratch all by myself and we will be competing at 3’ - 3’3" jumpers. I also train all the greenies at my barn and get on as many horses as possible. I will also be showing my trainers horse in 3’6" hunters although I have done 4’3" verticals and 4’ courses on him. He is a 17.1 Dutch Warmblood if that even matters. Any input is appreciated!

Oh and I won my states medal finals on the Warmblood!

Why ask a bunch of strangers who know nothing about you or your riding?

Why not ask your trainer how to do this for yourself?

Can you do it for yourself, as a minor, BTW?

You’re thirteen and you train all the greenies at your barn? By yourself?

Well by myself means that no other people are riding them but of course my trainer checks on us and I have to be in a lesson to jump

It already sounds like you catch ride quite a bit. Your trainer offered to let you show her horse, she found horses for you to show last year, she gives you four a day at home. I’m not sure what else you’re looking for?

That being said, you don’t “get them on your own”. Your trainer will offer and/or find them. She is your #1 connection, and at your age, your only really useful connection. You don’t really go looking for a catch ride, you just keep doing what you’re doing, working hard and saying thank you.

[QUOTE=sassymares;8467363]