Unlimited access >

Crossing Morgans & TBs

I’m just starting to learn about morgans and have become quite impressed with them. Are crosses with TBs popular and if not, why - is it because there isn’t a registry for the cross or is it because it’s not a great a match?

I’ve ridden three of them. They were very pretty, great conformation, they were all nice hunters, one was an eventer.

Their temperments left a little to be desired, but that could just have been the sire/dam combination.

A Morgan/TB is not a common cross, Ihave never even heard of it. Likely because these horses are a bit opposite in type. The Morgan should be a short, sturdy all purpose cob type of horse, built for riding and drving and the most emphasized gait in the breed is the trot, wheres the Thoroughbred is lean and leggy and its canter is the most emphasized gait. I have seen Hackney/Morgan crosses, Saddlebred/Morgan crosses, Dutch Harness Horse/Morgan crosses, and Arab/Morgan crosses. The Arab/Morgan cross is fairly popular in some areas, they are called Morabs and have their own registry.

3 Likes

Pajama Games

Pajama Games was 1/2 morgan and 1/2 TB and he evented at the upper levels, I think he went to the Pan American games.

3 Likes

I had a mare that was that cross that I evented thru training level and bred her back to a TB to produce a lovely 3/4 bred. Super nice cross with the substance of the morgan and the size and athleticism of the TB. There was someone (name escapes me) in New England that evented a couple of horses of this cross thru the upper levels of eventing…Colin Lindsley was one and a few others of the same breeding.

1 Like