Crush/compression fracture of L2: experiences? Update. Back in the saddle - yay!

Jinxed myself! Was just telling a student that I have been riding for over 30 years and had never broken anything. Despite knocking like crazy on the kickboards when I said it it, the following week I fell off and broke a veterbrae in my back.

Any words of advice? What can I expect about recovery time? Any therapies I should be looking into?

How long should I expect it to be sore?

Doctor said I will be off riding for 3 months. I’m planning on keeping my mare fit with lunging and ground poles. She’s at a great place, so I know she’s being looked after. I hate to think I’ll be missing show season but, that’s life, I guess.

I am so sorry to hear! I fell off and had compression fractures of T5-T7 (mostly T6) in September. Not sure how relevant my experience is, as it’s further up the back, but I was off riding about 3 months. The first 8 weeks I was in a brace and wasn’t allowed to do anything (drive to work, handle the horses, lift more than 5 lbs), then I went to PT for another month or so and they ramped up my activities.

5 months later I still have some soreness, particularly sleeping (I am supposed to sleep flat on my back but once asleep I forget . . .), twisting (like checking my blind spots driving) but it is still improving every week. I have some stretches from PT that help, yoga helps. Have also gotten back into strength training. Though, I don’t think any of that movement is recommended until the bone is healed.

Not sure what else to recommend. Patience? (it’s so hard not to be able to do stuff, and hard when cleared to do stuff not to feel like yourself). Netflix? There is a procedure they can do for compression fractures where they inject stuff into the compressed bone to expand it back to its original size/shape. I didn’t need it, but I met someone at PT who had that done.

Sorry again to hear. Hope you start feeling better soon.