Unlimited access >

CT for a young horse: one discipline at a time?

Let me preface this by saying this may be a stupid question. I also apologize in advance for lacking the talent of getting to the point. :rolleyes:

About two months ago I bought a late-started 5-year-old TB/Han gelding to try and bring him and myself up through the levels (note: we are definitely still in basics-mode). However, I am pretty new to young horses. The horse is currently in jumper training with the trainer I bought him from. I’ve taken him cross country, where he was cool as a cucumber, and I’ve taken a dressage lesson with him. Both instances showed that he has a high affinity for learning.

I will be relocating him from the seller/trainer’s facility in the fall to Ocala, so the search for trainers in the area has begun. However, as I am new to young horses, I am not sure whether to focus on one particular discipline at a time (e.g. jumping for a few months, then dressage for a few months, etc.) or consistently do combined training. My instinct is that the latter option is the right answer but there is some disagreement among my horsey peers, so I wanted to take a straw poll!

TL;DR version: Young horse learning eventing basics. What’s better, focusing on one discipline at a time or giving an all-around education at once?

I do what’s convienent & what I think will be the best outing. Generally, that’s not a HT as you don’t really get the practice the multiple dressage tests or o/f classes offered at the discipline specific shows. It is good to put it all together at a HT but if you can get the components worked out first, and then put them together, you are IMO steps ahead. Young horses can really benefit from back to back rounds, or so I’ve found.