Unlimited access >

Currently Riding in a Tom Thumb

Help!! I am a beginner, taught by friends! I wanted to purchase a bit for my TWH mare and looked at tom thumbs since that is what she is riding in currenlty. :frowning: UGH!! I cannot purchase another. Not to mention, from what I have read, this bit acts as a leverage bit, not a snaffle and all the while I have been direct reining with her. I am sick to my stomach. I honestly had no idea. As far as her, she seems okay but shakes her head a lot when turning her around. Rightfully so. I feel like a horrible person but I only know what I have been taught. We could benefit from lessons and I am working on finding a good trainer as we speak.

in the meantime, I need guidance. She doesnā€™t neck rein. Direct reining is all we know. I have been researching bits and it seems we need a snaffle for direct reining. I want to start fresh with her and maybe eventually we will both learn to neck rein and we can switch to a mild leverage bit for trail riding. Before any of that we need to get back to basics. Would an eggbutt snaffle be a good place to start? a Korsteel copper oval link snaffle?

The severity of the tom thumb has just been brought to my attention by simply googling and looking at forums. I am sick that I have even used it on my girl. Here is to starting new. Please send advice!

I ride for pleasure ONLY.

Oh, I direct-reined in an argentine ā€œsnaffleā€ (as you know, a leverage bit with shanks and a broken mouthpiece, NOT a snaffle) for years on my old horse. I wouldnā€™t have done it if Iā€™d known better, but my horse forgives me. Iā€™m sure your girl will too.

I use a D-ring french link like this. I like the french link because sometimes, on horses with low palates, the regular snaffle will poke them in the roof of the mouth. But I think just a plain old eggbutt snaffle is a fine bit, too.