Dang it! Diagnosed with shingles. When can I ride?

They say don’t get overheated and over stressed but I am a horse trainer and I want and need to ride. On the other hand I really don’t want chronic neuralgia. Anyone who has been down this road have advice for me?

Hmmm, they didn’t tell me any such two years ago when I had a bout of those on my back?
I thought for a bit I just had a very bad backache.

Where are yours, in your face, maybe?
A friend in her 30’s had some there and she ended up in the hospital, they were affecting her optic nerve.
Thankfully they cleared and so did her eyesight

Whatever others go thru, yours may be different, so better listen to your Drs. and try to arrange your life around that.

1 Like

I do have some chronic nerve pain. In an area where I had pre-existing neuropathy, but also went through a SERIOUS case of shingles.

See a doctor for sure. I seem to recollect that if you get some sort of anti-viral meds early on during a shingles episode, it can GREATLY reduce the risk of post herpetic neuralgia (I think the meds are similar to Valtrex… Shingles is essentially an activated version of some sort of chicken pox virus lingering in your nerves… I can’t quite remember what it has to do with different forms of the herpes virus but it isn’t an STD… it’s chicken pox related and has been lurking in your body for decades… uggh).