Unlimited access >

Dangerous horse

Hello, im currently in a pickle and will take any advice i can get. I bought a “family horse” 3 weeks ago, i have been working him slowly. Hes herd bound, cant be tied, bites, likes to kick when mucking hooves, has been eating my barn, very high energy, very dominant, so LOTS to work on. ALL those things i can work on, my last horse was psycho so ive worked with all kinds of bad behaviors. But i have no experience with his new favorite thing, when hes not getting his way he runs away at all cost. If i ask him to woah when lunging and he doesn’t want too, he takes off running and tugging. Lovely rope burn for me. Hes been doing much better on ground, so i tacked him up and had him lunge with my saddle on. I rode him in the pasture and multiple times around the farm, without problems. 2 days ago he got bossy with me under saddle trying to force me to walk him down the road, which i turned him the other way because i didn’t trust him yet. He didnt like not getting his way, so once again running! But this time bucking and jumping! Tried to run into a tree! I tried woah, pulling back on the reigns, releasing pressure, leg stop commands and even tried pulling him into a small circle to decrease speed. Nothing worked. Ive now got a concussion, two bruised lungs and swelling between my spinal discs. There was no noise, no moving object or anything else that could have spooked him. He was just vet checked and hooves done. Nothing explains the out of nowhere rodeo ride. My husband called his previous owner, who messaged me constantly saying that her kids missed him and they wanted him back if things didn’t work out. SURPRISE she doesn’t want him back!

So now I have a dangerous horse in my pasture, who i dont trust around my kids and I don’t feel safe around. I have no idea what to do…