Unlimited access >

Daughter bucked off in lessons-confidence shaken and joy almost gone, how to rebuild?

My daughter joined a new riding program in April. We had switched because the place she was at had ill fitting / not child size tack, instructor seemed naive, lesson horses were new to them… So I took her to the place I had been taking jumping lessons and really enjoying it. I have been riding for 24 years myself so not a newbie. It was going really well for a while until she got bucked off during her first canter ever. She did keep riding and even cantering on a different pony that we were reassured would absolutely never buck. Well just a few weeks ago they were lunging at the canter in a field and the pony bucked. She stayed on but barely and it hurt her back quite a bit. Now her confidence is shaken. I think more than anything her confidence is shaken with the instructor as it was on the lunge line and it seemed like the instructor got a little too aggressive asking for the transition. But of course she’s a little nervous about the ponies there too.

She’s nervous and starting to not have any enjoyment even though she’s just doing walk-trot for now. Instructor is a bit of a tough love type and I think my daughter needs a little bit more understanding given the situation. We are going to try to switch programs to see if we can find the joy and confidence again.

But I would love to hear how people got their kids through this. I’m totally fine if she wants to stop riding but I just hate for her to stop because of this incident when she was enjoying it a lot prior.

I think she absolutely should focus on walk and troy only for now until she feels like cantering again. The only struggle is she gets frustrated with super lazy ponies that don’t want to go. But I think that really depends on the pony and the program.