Unlimited access >

Dave Letterman.WOW.

Is any one watching the show,he and Dan Rather are unbelievable.I am impressed and crying at the same time.

Well that was really some show. I have not always been a big Letterman fan. But tonight he was very touching. And Dan Rather, well besides being emotionally exhausted, how do these people go on?

And I was so amazed that Rather kept saying, But I am a professional, I am paid to keep my emotions inside. The man has witnessed and recounted for the country how many times over, these horrible events for all these days and he is apologizing for breaking down. I don’t see how they could not.

Thank you for the reminder of the show. It was so worth staying up so late.

“The older I get, the better I used to be, but who the heck cares!”

Didn’t see it, but I LOVE Jon Stewart. Sounds very touching…

I saw it as well…have to admit I started crying as well…first of all to see Letterman all choked up, but to see Dan Rather lose it as well~ it was too much for me. I don’t blame him one bit though…as much tragedy as he’s had to report on in the past week, he had every reason in the world to break down…like Letterman said, he’s human too. Bless 'em both for an unforgettable & moving show! SUZ

Portia, I saw it, and it was WONDERFUL. It sort of snuck up on me, I didn’t know they were going back on the air tonight, but since my TV is smarter than me (it automatically changes to the Comedy Channel at 11:00 pm), I got to see it…

I was right there crying along with him when he said the part about his “new view”…

And puppies? Who can do better than puppies?

I stayed awake later than I have . . . since law school (!!) to see it.

Thanks for the heads-up. It was remarkable. Totally remarkable.

It made me feel so united, as somebody mentioned, to see that Dan Rather and David Letterman both feel the impact of this horrible tragedy and are not afraid to show it.