Unlimited access >

Designing Stable Management Software ~ Need some insight

I’m new here, hopefully this is the right place for this.

I grew up on a farmette with a few horses, and learned to ride by taking lessons at a stable near by and from my father. I also helped out a lot with the feeding and cleaning. I am also an experienced software developer. I have worked on business management software before and I have been contemplating putting something together for stable management as a way to get involved with horses again.

I know there are already quite a few solutions out there (if you know of any more, please let me know):

http://barnmanager.com/
http://www.stable-management.co.uk/
http://www.rendaivu.com/
https://www.tlore.net/main/index.cfm
http://stablesecretary.com/features/

For anyone that has used any of these, could you share what you liked and disliked about them?

Here are a few ideas (I would love to get some feedback from anyone involved in stable/horse farm management):

• Cloud based product, accessible by web (desktop computer), iPhone, Android, iPad, Android Tablet.

• At the core it is database management for the manager of a stable, maintain data about horses, horse owners, clients (riders or other activity), veterinary data, stable employees, events, etc.

• Allow easy download of user data, you can download all data you have in the site to a Excel file, word file or CSV. Can also produce relevant reports in Word File or PDF format. Help users upload their data to the product. The user owns their data, it should not be locked in the product.

• Calendar for appointments, lessons, etc. Allow calendar to be embedded in stable’s website so clients can easily make appointments via the web. Perhaps allow other data to be embedded in other websites.

• Facilitate communication between manager and employees. For example, when finished cleaning a horse’s stall, employee can record this data and it will be shared with everyone else.