Unlimited access >

Desperately need advice for my gelding who is acting like a stallion?

I’m very new to this so I wasn’t quite sure where to post this, but here is my issue:

I’ve had my gelding who is a 13 yo TB for six years. During those six years I boarded him at a farm where he rarely had any contact whatsoever with mares.

About a week and a half ago, I moved my gelding to a new farm that’s more suitable for me. However, he now has mares in the field right next to him and in stalls close by.

I moved him on a Thursday and went on Saturday to ride him. He was an absolute angel while I tacked up and rode, as he usually is. I then went to ride him again the next day on Sunday, and he was going crazy over the mares. He was running along the fence neighing to them when I went to get him, and he was covered in sweat. I brought him in the barn and he went crazy. He neighed to the mares, paced, and finally broke off of the crossties and out of his halter and was acting very aggressively. I decided not to ride and put him in a field where he couldn’t see the mares.

I’ve attempted to ride him a couple of times since then and he keeps acting the same way, even though he isn’t as close to the mares. I haven’t ridden him since that one Saturday because I’ve gone out alone and I don’t want to get injured and not have someone there to help me.

I don’t know what to do and I don’t want to have to leave this new farm! Can someone please give me ideas as to how to fix this? Thank you so much in advance!

I can’t offer and real advice but I have a 16 year old tb who kind of does the same thing, he drops every time he’s near mares so I just do my best to make sure he isn’t turned out near mares and isn’t stalled next to them. Ive never had a problem with riding him around mares though.

Can he be moved away from the mares, at least until a less hormonal time of year?

COTHers are notorious for saying, “Call the vet!”