Unlimited access >

Devon.. To Go Or Not To Go?

I live about 3 hrs from Devon, the drive doesn’t bother me, and I’d really love to experience Devon. I’d love to take my yearling colt, as I feel he might be competitive. I’m still new to the East Coast HB scene, but in the end I don’t do it to win, but for the experience for my youngsters and I just enjoy showing! I would show my own little man (again for the experience I’m not in it to WIN it, but it is fun to get a ribbon). Would you go? The prices are a bit more than the usual HB show around here, and the travel is farther, but just to say I’ve done it … and the experience of dressing up and just doing the thing? Who’s going, who’s gone, what do you think?

I loved showing at Devon. I wouldn’t go if that was his only show so you need to find a few others to get him out and about first. You also need a handler which are hard to get at this late date. It was worth it to me.

He’ll be getting out a lot prior to devon for sure :slight_smile: I’m a little bummed that the MD shows wont be holding classes, but he does need to mature a little more so waiting for Rose Mount will probably be a blessing.

You also need a handler which are hard to get at this late date.

Maybe I’ll look like an idiot, but I’ll still handle my own horse. I don’t have a riding horse to show, and with as much money as I’ll be spending, like I said its for the experience, I want to handle my own horse, even if it means I don’t win because of it. He gets in the ring … thats the important part.

Oh I missed that part about handling yourself. No rules against it of course but they definitely seem to like “names” there.

It’s definitely worth it! Devon is a different experience than other shows. You get to see some of the best horses, handlers and breeders in one place, and it’s a great place to network and meet others.

ETA: Plus there are a lot of different educational and social events, great food, and great shopping! :slight_smile: