Unlimited access >

Diagnose my hip pain!

I know, this really shouldn’t be the right place to ask this. However, I don’t have a GP I like, and although I know ultimately I want to get sent to a specific physical therapist (he’s worked with my husband and my daughter, and he’s the husband of a co-worker and he’s great) I’m not sure if I can actually get that to happen with our medical system in a remotely timely matter.

So here I am.

I ride and teach for a living. I haven’t had any significant falls or accidents recently. It started out about 6 weeks ago with hip pain (outer hip - right where you’d think the joint is) in my left leg. I was gimpy for a while, then came home, rested, then noticed it in my right… It hurts in both. Sometimes one more than the other, usually just nagging, but I occasionally gimp. I’m sparingly using NSAIDS, but only when I’m really hurting. I’m much better riding than walking.

I’m just shy of mid-40s.

What am I dealing with?

Why not get an xray? Your GP should refer you to an Orthopedic person who will do an xray before diagnosing. The xray is your property. Take it to a second orthopedic for a second opinion. From here I’d guess arthritis or bursitis. Both are treatable. I’ve had a hip replaced, two knees, and a shoulder. Only feeling I have about that is I wish I’d done it sooner. I live pain free, ride every day and just rejoined first flight fox hunting after training my young horse to jump. I’m 67. Do you really want to be in pain for the next 20 years when you don’t have to be?

1 Like

Most defnitely not! I need a push. Thanks for the push.

1 Like

That location makes me think bursitis, which is often pretty easy to treat with a steroid injection. Take a peek at Google for “trochanteric bursitis” and see if that looks like a good fit for where you hurt.

Definitely hit up the doctor, you don’t need to hurt :slight_smile:

2 Likes

I agree, you definitely need xrays so that you know what you’re dealing with.