Dispensation Questions

I have finally located the dispensation papers, printed them up, and have them ready to fill out. Naturally, I have questions…

It says to check the current USEF rules to see if the aids or equipment I am asking for are already allowed and if so, I do not require a dispensation certificate. Where do I find this? Believe me, I have searched the USEF and USDF rules and I cannot find anything related to my issue.

In case any of you already know the answer, here is what I need:

I have a 90 degree wrist drop. In order to use my hand at all, I need a wrist brace. Is this an acceptable piece of equipment? Do I need a dispensation certificate for this? This is not a giant brace. It is easily hidden so long as I am wearing long sleeves and gloves.

TIA :smiley:

BUMPITY BUMP

I guess I will just send it on Monday. I would assume they will not attack me if I missed something. I read the info a minimum of 5 times, so I highly doubt I missed wrist brace. On an even cooler note, I am going to see if I can cut strips out of the sides of the fingers on my gloves. This would enable me to have a better feel of the reins, but I would not have the unpolished look of riding sans gloves :yes:

My brainiac/nerdy studying also brought me to some super, almost life altering info. If I am interested in being classified, I just have to contact the USEF Director of ParaEquestrian Activities and that person will coordinate an approved classiefier from my area. This is so exciting!!!

I will ship out my info and hopefully get a nice little (or big) dispensation certificate. Wahooo!!!

Hope Hand is the guru to ask

You need to ask Hope Hand. She will know all the intricacies of the allowed list. She is the only one I would trust with question as the authority.

From what I learned from the Paulien Albers/Hope Hand clinic in Maine that Mary Jordan hosted: