Unlimited access >

DIY fencing or hire a contractor?

I’m buying a small property. We will need to fence the back half before the horses can come home. I’d like to do pipe fence because it holds up well in this climate. I am a weekend quality welder, but I’m sure I’d shape up fast with a bit of practice.

Would you call in a contractor or DIY?

I have a welder I can borrow but I would have to buy a generator, gas, cutting torch, rent or buy driver/auger and actually DO the work of building the fence. I will have to eventually own all of these things and a tractor because there will be many more fences and shelters to build. BUT…

It’s currently coming costing me about $1100/month to board my horses. So if it takes me 3 months to build then that’s $3300 in board. So at least for the short term it seems like saving a month of board ($1100) plus a generator ($1000) plus shield gas, cutting torch, torch gas, auger/driver, hood, misc… would argue for getting the initial fence built by a professional. I could theoretically still even buy my own materials if I thought I could source them cheaper (I’m not at all convinced of this). Then I can move the horses home and collect equipment and make improvements at my leisure.

On the other hand, I’m cheap so doing it myself is almost always my go to.

I would love to hear your stories of success and horror with either path forward. Did building a fence together save your marriage? Do you know the BEST fence contractor in the central Rio Grande Water Conservancy District and you want to give me their number? Share it here!!! Thanks!

Just on the basis of aesthetics, I would pay a good pro. At my small farm-to-be, the fence will be a prominent feature visible from inside the house. No way would I want to see, every time I looked out a window, a daily, conspicuous reminder of my fencebuilding learning experience.