Unlimited access >

Do half pads change your seat

I recently started lessons again after a few months off and my new barn uses a thick half pad under their dressage saddle. I felt unable to sit deep and my spine felt as if it was falling in. I’ve been riding for 6 years and never felt this much soreness in my back or legs after a ride though I am assuming that it’s partially because I took some time off. Just wanted some feedback if anyone else feels as if half pads have ever changed their riding or comfort.

I totally think they do. I used to have a shimmiable pad from Total Saddle Fit that made my ride feel stiff and disconnected. Once I got a saddle that really fit my horse, I purchased a thin gel pad and I have so much more contact and connection now in the saddle. I think thick half pads block a lot of feel.

1 Like

I think they can but I think it depends on the saddle and pad. I actually just had my saddle fitted with a mattes pad yesterday. But the saddle fitter told me I will just have to ride in it and see if I like it. My saddle fits without one just fine but does have room for my pad which is not very thick. She said sometimes horses and riders prefer it but sometimes it’s the opposite.

I’ve ridden in other people’s saddles with half pads and never felt strongly one way or another. Now I have had opinions on certain saddles!

I expect the real problem is that the saddle does not fit you, and obviously does not really fit the horse.

I have a dressage saddle that fits me well. Depending on what my horse’s top line is doing, I use either an Ogilvie cloth baby pad, or the pad plus a Mattes sheepskin half pad. I recently switched out of the sheepskin. The difference is subtle. I have a touch more feel without it, a touch less jar at the sitting trot with it. But very subtle.

However a saddle that’s a very bad fit especially if the seat is too small can really mess up your ride.

5 Likes