Do the hounds kill the fox?

That’s pretty much the question.

I’ve been reading the Hunting forum and enjoy seeing the beautiful photos of lovely horses and riders so professionally turned out. But searching on the internet for fox hunting seemed to turn up a lot of anti-fox hunting websites, and some downright graphic photos of foxes being torn to shreds by the hounds. :frowning:

Can somebody tell me that fox hunting in 2006 isn’t quite the same as fox hunting of old?

Edited so title says Hounds and not dogs. I know “dogs” is incorrect. Sorry. (I have a hound myself and never refer to him as a dog. :smiley: )

Here is a thread where this is discussed pretty extensively:

http://chronicleforums.com/Forum/showthread.php?t=34004

Hope it’s helpful.

I am new to hunting, but drag hunt, and personally will only ever drag hunt, I think. Most (not all) of the hunts up here are drags.

I really hope this thread doesn’t turn into a train wreck, because I’ve been meaning to ask a similar question of those who live hunt. Folks in live hunts have commented on the rarity of a kill, and poking around on the internet seems to indicate that the US–the non-coyote people at least–have far less focus on the kill than in the UK.

I’d love to hear how often live hunts a.) actually give chase to live quarry (i.e. how often do you actually have a critter to chase and how often are you drawing a blank) and b.) how often do those hunts end in a kill.

And pleasepleaseplease no trainwreck. :slight_smile:

Ooops. Badger posted while I was writing. Off to read that thread.

Yes, on occasion, the fox IS caught by the hounds. Death is fairly instantaneous.
I don’t think anyone enjoys a kill, at least no one that I hunt with does. We enjoy the chase and want our foxes to to stay alive.