Does anyone here have O.I. and rides?

Hello
I just found this forum and I wanted to see if anyone has or knows someone with Osteogenesis Imperfecta better known as O.I or brittle bone disease. This is what I was born with, and I was also born with a passion for horses.
I will try to make a long story short . I am 36 and have a Milder form of this. I have had 150 fractures,had both tibias rodded (now removed) and now I have to wear lower plastic leg braces from the knee down. To help prevent fractures.
I started riding when I was 20. Much to my orthopedists dismay. I have been bucked off once hurt my lower back. And have had a green horse run over me and break my leg badly. All before I was 22… I took a break from horses, got married and stayed busy with my career. I always wanted a horse in my life again. Always felt something was missing. I adopted a rescue TB/Arabian gelding from Colorado about 7 yrs ago. He was a wonderful soul that was almost 16 hands. ( I am 4’11) He was always a sweet old man for me, I never had any problems. I unfortunately lost him 2 wks ago to age/Colic.( he was est. @ 25 yrs old) I miss him dearly. My worry is now about finding a new suitable mount. I have more aches and pains now, but I so miss riding. I don’t think I am ready to give up horses yet. My husband has a 10 yr old TB…But he is too spirited for my liking. ( I still get occasional anxiety from that accident that caused me to be ran over.) I guess I am just feeling like I need someone to talk to right now. I am scared about trying to find a good horse like I had. My husband is very supportive. He wants me to get another horse when the right one comes along…
I’m thinking that a smaller horse may be good for me. Since I am 4’11. Does anyone think that a 13 hand horse would be too small. I am very petite…I want to trail ride. Thanks for reading BTW. :smiley:

“Attitude is a little thing that makes a big difference.”
~Winston Churchill