Unlimited access >

Dog Food - Earthborn Holistic or Fromm?

Greetings!

i am looking for the BEST food for my 3 year old shih-poo. Cost does not matter , he eats 1/4 cup twice a day!

i prefer a lower protein/phosphorous content as he has had kidney “issues” (elevated BUN, all else normal, no symptoms) in the past. Vet said just to monitor, and be conscientious.

My question - which is better? Earthborn Holistic (i feed this currently, meadow feast) or Fromm?

Background - I’ve been feeding Earthborn Meadow Feast for almost 2 years. Hes done fine on it … he does have some allergies/itching on it, but no clue if it is food related. I recently read some reviews that dogs were getting sick on meadow feast, and they are investigating. That sparked my curiosity on other foods, and then i thought the itchy might be food related.

It is important to me the food be USA and ALL NATURAL. I would prefer organic but can’t find that stuff.

Thoughts? Opinions? All appreciated!

Best, in part will depend on what they will eat and how they do. Every single food recommendation will have dogs that won’t eat it or don’t do well on it.

I feel a combination of Fromm Small Breed Adult + The Honest Kitchen for my two Border Terriers. They both inhale it and seem to do well on it… no runs, no excessive scratching etc.

He will eat ANYTHING! Thats why i want to make sure i’m feeding the BEST.

There is no such thing as best. Many foods have the same rating but have different ingredients.

If you’ve narrowed it down to two, and your dog likes them both equally - choose the one that is easier to find (e.g. might be available at more than one store local to you.) Nothing more aggravating than finding it unavailable the day you need it.

I posted on the trendy food thread about my experience with Earthborn’s cat food. I will not feed their products. I dont have experience with Fromm personally but have friends that feed it and have been happy with results.