Unlimited access >

Dog Issue:

Dog Issue: Sorry - long story.

I adopt older dogs. Adopted a bonded pair in 2019 and the old GSD was 13 and notes in file said “bites” and thus no heart worm meds. The dog never bit me and I had him tested - he had erlychia (sp?) and I treated it. Spent loads of money and put my heart into him. 6 months later he had tumor in chest and he was PTS. The other bonded dog is sweet lab mix but has emotional issues as well as joint issues.

I wanted something “young!” WELL - I adopted a young hound mix and he was cute, smart and healthy and was kind to my other dog and my cat and all was good … until he got into the cat room and started eating cat food. I walked in thinking this would be a minor issue and I would take him out of room and resecure the door.

The puppy hunched over the bowl of food and growled and lunged at me. I have been working non-stop with him for over three years - trying to train him and taking him to places to get obedience and behavioral help. He resource guards items like tissues and pieces of paper etc. I have divided my house up and I have baby gates everywhere so I can attempt to control his environment. I am exhausted after little success over 3 years.

Last month he resource guarded a person - a person he knows and likes came to do some work and the dog was outside when he came. The worker needed to have front door open so I went out and got the dog and was going to put him in his crate in my bedroom. I put leash on him and in about 5 steps he turned into CUJO and was biting and lunging (normal behavior when he gets upset over resource guarding). I managed to get him into the crate but then he was lunging and biting and rushing the door so I couldn’t get to lock door. The worker came and said “oh I can get it” but then he realized how dangerous that would be so he went and got his channel wrench and latched the gate.