Don't let a migraine keep you from riding!

DISCLAIMER: I am not a doctor or pharmacist, and I didn’t sleep at a Holiday Inn last night. I’m just a middle-aged mom that wants to help spare others of the misery of migraine headaches!

I’ve had migraines at least half my life. They usually render me sick to my stomach, useless, tired, and cranky, making me unable to enjoy being outside riding or working at the barn. I’ve been taking generic imitrex. It works but I can only get so many tablets per month due to my insurance and it has some massive side effects that make me feel just… YUCK.

In the past few months, DH has developed more regular migraines that weren’t responding to OTC excedrine migraine medication, so I took her to the doctor to see if there was something else she could use. The doctor suggested the following “cocktail”:

600 mg Advil (ibuprofen) at the very first sign of a migraine, taken with lots of water

If this didn’t help (and it never helped me anyway) then an hour later, take:

25-50 mg benadryl
650 mg Tylenol (acetaminofin)
caffeine (she didn’t give a specific dose for the caffeine, so maybe wash your cocktail down with a cup of coffee or some other caffeinated drink)

I felt a migraine creeping up on me today so I decided I’d give the cocktail a whirl. It worked.

Maybe I won’t have to take any more imitrex!

I wish it was that easy for everyone. Congrats for finding something that works for you. Yesterday I ended up getting IV fluids and the trigger points at the base of my neck where it meets my shoulders injected so I could get out of bed for the first time since Monday.