Unlimited access >

Dressage Barns in Chicago area

I’m a young professional (not horse professional!) newly relocated to Chicago (north Chicago), and don’t currently own a horse. I’d appreciate suggestions of barns with lesson horses, or possibly half leases, so that I could take lessons/ride two to three times a week.

My background was in jumpers in high school, but I’d be happy to pursue jumpers, hunters, or dressage. Just want to be able to get back to riding!

A program that encourages riders to show is nice, but not essential. My big constraint is time, so I’m hoping to find a place within a 45 minute commute.

Thanks in advance.

I’ve posted both here and in Hunter/Jumper, and so far gotten only one response (which I appreciate!)

I’m not sure whether my parameters are impossible to meet, or there are just not many CotHers in the Chicago area.

To relax my parameters, can anyone recommend barns within an hour commute of north Chicago that have good trainers in either Hunter/Jumper or dressage?

TIA.

I think you aren’t getting answers because with Chicago traffic there probably isn’t a barn an hour away. With winter snowfall except a drive to take 2 hours or more for anything around an hour drive.

I moved from the suburbs 3 years ago to Florida so I’m not sure what is around or has leases available. You will most likely need to commit to an hour & 15 or an hour & a half drive. Your best option is to check in Wisconsin or I think there is a Northern Illinois horse directory FB page.

2 Likes

Thanks for your response. I posted on both dressage and Hunter/Jumper because I anticipated it might be hard to get something close in and I’m flexible on discipline. I did get some suggestions from the post in Hunter/Jumper, but they may well be places that are farther out than an hour drive, as you say. I’ll check the Northern Illinois horse directory FB page as well.