Unlimited access >

Dressage community/facilities/thoughts for Santa Rosa area?

Hello! I am a trainer looking to relocate to Santa Rosa or surrounding areas. I would love feedback about the dressage community there, which areas would be good for business, and just general thoughts about the area. I was in San Diego for 13 years riding and training but have spent the last year in the Modesto area and am looking for a change. Thank you!

There are a lot of facilities and trainers in that area. What is your experience, and what sort of training are you looking to do?

Santa Rosa is a great place to have dressage horses and has a thriving community. There are quality trainers, lots of enthusiastic riders, and terrific riding weather. The Sonoma chapter of CDS is pretty active.

http://centerlinescores.com/Rider/Details/119695#filterBy=rider

[QUOTE=honeylips;8150164]
http://centerlinescores.com/Rider/Details/119695#filterBy=rider[/QUOTE]

And?

OP - the biggest disadvantage I would see in such a relocation - there are LOTS of trainers, many of them are very good. In a place like Modesto, there is a need - not many trainers. I can think of a couple in the Turlock/Merced area that do low level dressage and eventing, and one in the foothills east of there that is a successful FEI trainer. So there isn’t a lot of trainer competition :wink:

You go to Santa Rosa, and there are many, many good trainers. And it is expensive. I think it would be harder to start or expand a business there. And more expensive.

If you are not trying to “be a trainer”, it would be a great move - more shows to get to, more activities, more trainers to work with. Some LOVELY facilities. SREC is a good place to start - it is big and the owner is very active in CDS and a good source of info. It is a lovely, lovely area - if you can afford to live there :wink: