Unlimited access >

Dressage Saddle on a Budget!

Hi there!
I have been given the amazing opportunity to ride and compete my trainers horse for her for a years, but we have a few issues.
He has a custom saddle, but the twist is to wide for me, and the seat tips me forward due to its high back. I tried riding him in my Passier GG, but it was not enough support for me as he is a very big mover and he did not move terribly well in it. I test rode him in a Schleese Link ii which I loved! It had a narrow twist and a flatter seat while maintaining a close contact feel. I am looking for something with this same criteria that won’t break the bank, because like i said Im a student. Any suggestions are much appreciated!

Honestly, it depends on your budget. I will say that in the last year, I’ve bought a Schlese for just over $500 on ebay. I also bought a great older name brand saddle at a local tack swap for under $100.
The deals are out there, you just have to find them and pounce.

I have a budget of about 1500, and I loveeee ebay for deals! The only problem Im having with this is that I will not spend that much money on a saddle I’m 100% sure about, which means test riding. I am finding that most people via ebay are not interested in offering trials. But yes I agree I love deals- bought my passier off ebay new for 700 dollars =)

One option is to look (online) for a shop that has

1. an excellent fitter on staff
  2. a good selection of saddles that are in your size/tree & budget

eg, Equestrian Imports - note that even the online fitting/consult runs ~ $100 so I’d want some of 2) available.

If you have local saddle fitters that carry used (consignment) saddles, then you might begin there - do ask a lot of questions about the process though before you commit to paying for a consult (again if the fitter only has 1 or 2 saddles that fit you, you might want to look for an alternate).