Dressage Stallion Opinions

Hi there knowledgeable people. I’ve been considering putting my Hand in Glove mare in foal for two/three years now and after an injury this year meaning she will be out for the season I’ve decided now is the right time.

She’s succeeded at BE90 and Dressage up to Elementary. I’m in two minds with which way to go stallion wise. I love dressage myself personally and the foal would essentially be for myself.

I’m looking at Sandro Hit or Sir Donnerhall at the moment and also looked into Fidertanz. Does anyone have any opinions on this? She’s a fabulous stamp of a mare and if I were to add anything, it would be strength behind and something uphill as she’s typically built to event. Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated as where I am it’s hard to avoid trainers biased to their own stallions. Thanks in advance :slight_smile: !

These are three very solid stallions so it really depends on which one complements your mare best. Of the three you picked I have the most experience with Sir Donnerhall I’s offspring, every one of them was lovely, with good character and sit. I own a granddaughter of Sir D I and the apple didn’t fall far from the tree.

1 Like

Thank you for responding!! I’m really looking to add something more uphill and maybe a stronger hind leg. They all seem like good options to me and I just can’t pin it down.

Sir D is awesome as are your other choices. I would have her genetically tested through UC Davis for FFS before breeding.

Fragile Foal Syndrome (FFS) Type I | Veterinary Genetics Laboratory (ucdavis.edu)

1 Like

It’s recommended for both Sir D and Sandro Hit to breed to a mare with a good hind end. Sir D is rather flat in the croup, Sandro Hit is rather straight.

OP is in the UK.

Of the three I would go with Fidertanz especially if you want to event. I think he crosses better on the kind of mare you describe.

Oooops … I missed that.

I would still test if Sir Donnerhall isn’t tested himself. Donnerhall was a carrier