Unlimited access >

Dressage Trainers Near Portland, Oregon

Hey y’all! I’ve done some searching on the forum for this topic, but many of the posts are older and I wanted to start a new thread. I am an adult amateur with a 12 year old Hanoverian gelding and am moving from Austin, TX up to Portland, OR this summer, and am starting to search for the right place to keep my horse, and the right trainer to work with.

• I don’t mind a trainer who’s tough, as long as they’re fair and kind when not in ‘training mode’. I want to work hard and progress with my horse, and I want someone who’s also committed to helping horses and students move up the levels
  • I could do half-training on my horse, but would prefer not to have him in full training. I know this could be a dealbreaker for some high performance barns, and I could be flexible about this.
  • Conformationally, it is very easy for my horse to duck behind the contact or get in a false frame. I need someone who understands how to get a horse to come up and out, create positive tension, and be reaching towards the bit (and will keep me committed to riding this way as well)
  • My horse is 3rd level, and I’d like to keep him moving up the levels. He’s tricky and we’ve had some missteps, which is why we’re not higher, but he’s sound and I hope we have a long career ahead of him.
  • I don’t know how common this is, but my horse does best on 24/7 turnout, and I’d prefer for it to either be private turnout or with another horse. The less time spent in the stall, the better for him mentally and physically.
  • If anyone can offer specifics of what I can expect to spend on boarding, I’d appreciate it. Right now, I spend about $1k on board, not including lessons.
  • I don’t have a trailer at the moment, so I would probably not look for a trainer who only does haul-ins, but if this is a barrier to finding a good trainer, let me know.