Unlimited access >

Drop noseband fad

Over the past 6 months riders have been adding drop nosebands to their bridles in herds! (While tack often comes in and out of popularity due to its presence in the big shows/pros/internationally, I’m curious as to your experiences with them.) What advantages do you find with this particular piece of tack?

Well firstly, it isn’t a fad. A figure eight and flash are more of a fad than a drop! They have been around for ages and are and have always been highly regarded in German training.

Drops provide a more comfortable fit than a flash or a figure eight. They help to prevent opening of the mouth while still allowing the horse to move their jaw and chew on the bit. I flat all of mine in a drop or Micklem (which has a drop action).

Really? I haven’t seen any outside of dressage in years. Where are you geographically?

I started riding in the mid 1980’s - used to see an occasional dropped nose band on a dressage horse - but they certainly were not popular in any ring.

Hardly saw any in the 1990’s - I distinctly remember ONE horse in our barn went in a dropped (out of 25+ event horses) and I was working at a large training center with 200+ horses at the time. Two event barns, two dressage barns, a jumper only barn, and three hunter/jumper/ eq. barns. I do not recall seeing any of them go in a dropped noseband.

But lately I have seen them in the jumper ring, and dressage rings.

So while it is an OLD piece of tack - it has become more “trendy” as of late. Just like how figure 8 became a must have for eventers after the US eventing team all wore them. I don’t think figure 8 had just been invented - but tack does go in and out of trends.

And I think they are generally not popular in eventing as you run a risk of constricting the airway if the horse does not have low set nostrils.