Unlimited access >

Endoscopy experiences?

Hey everyone,
I have been dealing with gelding having ulcers for a few months now. While it does not seem long, for a neurotic horse mom like me, it seems like a lifetime! I had another vet see him this past week while mine was out of town (same practice) and this vet decided that it was time for an endoscopy. My regular vet suggested it a while ago but a former trainer talked me out of it.

The appointment is scheduled for Monday, June 17 at 9:30 am and I am a nervous wreck! Could everyone please share their experiences and hopefully put my mind at ease.

Thanks in advance!

I have done it a couple of times. It is stressful for horse and owner. I wish I could say it wasn’t. Make absolutely sure your horse does not eat for the whole 24 hours before the scope or you will waste your time looking at food.

I respectfully disagree with MRoades… Not stressful so long as you’re not squeamish. I’m a retired equine vet tech and have assisted in many gastric scopings, including my own horse’s.

Yes the horse must be fasted and that can make them cranky, but frankly they survive just fine. If you don’t think you can withhold food for the duration, or are afraid someone might take pity on him and feed him despite your instructions not to, overnight him at the clinic.

Here’s how it’s done: Horse is put into position, whether that’s stocks or being held. Typically a nose twitch is applied after some light IV sedation. The scope is passed up a nostril (and they’re MUCH thinner than any NGT tube used like in the event of colic). The scope is guided, and there’s a camera attached so it’s even easier then going blind with a tube. The vet waits for the horse to swallow and passes the scope into the esophagus and into the stomach, watching as he goes. Then the scope is maneuvered as needed to see the stomach and search for any ulcers. It could take up to an hour, but most scopes are over within a half hour.