Unlimited access >

Eventing community/facilities/general thoughts on Santa Rosa and surrounding areas

Hello! I am a trainer looking to relocate to Santa Rosa or surrounding areas. I would love feedback about the eventing community there, which areas would be good for business, and just general thoughts about the area. I was in San Diego for 13 years riding and training but have spent the last year in the Modesto area and am looking for a change. Thank you!

So I replied to your dressage thread. The eventing and dressage communities are tightly intertwined in Sonoma County, perhaps with more dressage but a thriving eventing community. Yves Sauvignon still teaches in the area, and many of his students are now trainers as well.

It’s a great place for horses, and the vibe is more dressage and eventing than hunter/jumper. If you can find a slot that works for you, I expect you will enjoy it.

I’m a trainer in sonoma county, a former student of Yves’ as well (among others), and while as a person, I would tell you that SoCo is the best, as a trainer I would say think carefully. There are A LOT of us here! Just off the top of my head: Andrea Pfeiffer/Amber Levine, Matt Brown, David Adamo, Yves, josh Barnacle, Toora Nolan, Jennifer McRonald, Suzanne Brock, Zabou Cullum, Anna Levenger, Becky Cushman is primarily dressage but has a few eventers, but you get the idea, I’ve probably missed a few, it’s a bit of a crowded field.

In addition, one of our larger facilities just announced its closing as a public facility, so finding a place to work out of just got tougher–because in addition to losing that place as a potential base, you’ll now be competing with the five trainers that were there for other barns in the area.

The pluses: more turnout available than other parts of the Bay Area, nice weather, easy beach access for gallops, lots of horse friendly parks, etc. also, even though there are a lot of us, we’re a pretty friendly community. Nothing cut throat, which is nice.